History

The original building of the Plough Inn, Far Forest, Bewdley dates back to c1500. The original date of the pub is unknown however the cellar and stable (now the bar) were built in 1720 when the Plough became a coaching house.

The Coaching House Inn was well-known watering hole on the ‘Welch Switch Black’ serving local ales and ciders as well as offering accommodation and bathing facilities to cliental travelling from Wales to Birmingham. The original cellar is still in use and has a natural watercourse running through the centre. The watercourse keeps the cellar at a perfect humidity for our wide selection of local real ales!

Mark Giles a proprietor of the Plough Inn, Far Forest, Bewdley prides himself in his high standards of cellar keeping and during the summer months offer a variety of up to eight real ales! Mark and Louise Giles have now owned and managed the plough inn for the past 10 years since which the business has gone from strength to strength. The Plough Inn, Far Forest, Bewdley is part of Nostalgia Inns Ltd along with Ye Old Punch Bowl, Bridgenorth. It is a family run business who have over 40 years experience within the trade. Mark and Louise have developed the Plough and have made it to what it is today which is building with the unique conservatory restaurant with the dining capacity of 160. The Plough Inn, Far Forest, Bewdley serve top quality home cooked food that is sourced locally. Mark and Louise are very proud to maintain a family run establishment with customer enjoyment and satisfaction being of paramount importance to them and to say that we are ‘England’s No 1 Carvery’.